A Job You Don’t Want: Climbing An 1,800-Foot Lightning Rod

What’s it like being a technician who free-climbs a third-mile tall broadcast tower to go to work? Every bit as terrifying as you’d imagine.

By Ky Henderson

We could describe to you what it’s like being a technician who has to free-climb a 1,768 foot broadcasting tower with a 30-pound tool bag dangling on a rope tied to his waist, only to reach the top to do his job while balancing on about one square foot of metal. But you may as well just watch this terrifying video of it instead.

Oh, and kids? Learn a lesson from these guys and make sure you wear a helmet when you’re dangling off the top of a ladder taller than the Willis (nee Sears) Tower. It could save your life.


Climbing A 1786 Foot Tall Tower – Watch more Funny Videos

TAGS: climbing, heights, jobs, new underwear

 

Post a comment:

Zack Zeigler (Tue, 14 Jun 2011 23:08:50 +0000): Yikes.
Dennis Watson (Mon, 27 Jun 2011 19:41:04 +0000): if your afraid of heights...don't look at this.
Ivan Cagnoli (Thu, 07 Jul 2011 12:01:19 +0000): vacca boia!!!!
Birgit Avistu (Fri, 08 Jul 2011 11:11:59 +0000): OMG O.O
Dominique Noel (Mon, 18 Jul 2011 05:58:25 +0000): Hope they are well paid...this was frightening, just by looking at it.
Ev Gr (Mon, 03 Oct 2011 20:25:19 +0000): just another day at the office.
Dianne Oliver (Mon, 03 Oct 2011 23:46:27 +0000): OMG! Are they flipping insane? I was getting scarey butterflies in my stomach everytime this guy looked down! There is no amount of money that could get me to do that.. none!
Robert Austin (Thu, 06 Oct 2011 21:47:37 +0000): Gives me the willies just watching this!
Ray Felitto III (Thu, 06 Oct 2011 22:44:39 +0000): Now this IS a job most Americans WON'T do, one of the very few. Balls like coconuts for that every day.
Sean Lewis (Fri, 07 Oct 2011 10:00:43 +0000): Wow!
Reda Benzerfa (Wed, 12 Oct 2011 20:14:15 +0000): antenniste de mobilis
Nick Fulker (Sat, 22 Oct 2011 19:51:38 +0000): wow
Tuiwainunu Buwawa (Mon, 31 Oct 2011 11:38:46 +0000): if your afraid of heights...don't watch this.
Charles Segugu (Fri, 02 Dec 2011 10:10:25 +0000): Breathtaking, yet it seems so casual to these professionals.
Julie L. Kotzin (Fri, 10 Feb 2012 14:06:17 +0000): EEK!
Bigirimana Simeon (Wed, 29 Feb 2012 09:33:54 +0000): "Career: to throw away what people scared "if you scare the heights you'll never get in heaven, you may as well get rewarded.
Kazuhiro Umi AlEureh (Fri, 02 Mar 2012 08:42:10 +0000): wow!
Stephen Lee (Wed, 16 May 2012 15:39:37 +0000): My hands n legs are shaking when watching these guys climbing up....
Srinu Nivas (Sat, 19 May 2012 05:30:06 +0000): very very super....no body can't do this ob for money...or for any thing...because life risk no one will take..

Comments

Post a comment: